What are the Eastern and Western blocs?

What are the Eastern and Western blocs?

The latter were known as the Eastern Bloc. The Western Bloc's governments and press preferred to refer to themselves as the "Free World" or the "Western World," whilst the Eastern Bloc was frequently referred to as the "Communist World" or the "Second World."

At the time of their dissolution in 1991, both the Soviet Union and China were considered to be socialist states with state-run economies. However they differ in many ways from each other and from Western capitalism such as a more active government role in economic affairs and less freedom of speech and press.

In general terms, the Eastern Bloc consisted of Communist countries that emerged after the collapse of the Russian Empire in 1856. A second wave of countries joined them in 1949 following the fall of Communism in Europe. These include the former Soviet republics of Belarus, Ukraine, and Georgia but not Russia itself.

The term "Eastern Bloc" is also used for two other groupings of countries that do not match the definition given above: 1 Eight Communist countries that maintained diplomatic relations with the USSR until it collapsed: Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and Yugoslavia. 2 Three additional countries that had been under Communist rule or influence since 1945: Laos, North Korea, and Vietnam.

What is the bloc in Europe?

The Eastern Bloc, also known as the Communist Bloc, the Socialist Bloc, and the Soviet Bloc, was a coalition of socialist republics in Central and Eastern Europe, East Asia, and Southeast Asia that existed during the Cold War (1947–1991) in opposition to the Soviet Union and its ideology (communism).

These countries were dominated by communist governments that received support from the Soviet Union. In most cases, these governments were established by revolutionary movements or military dictatorships with roots in the Russian Revolution of 1917 or the Chinese Revolution of 1926. However, some countries entered into political alliances with the USSR that led them to become satellite states. These alliances usually had economic purposes but did not include diplomatic recognition or participation in elections.

In Europe, the term "Eastern Bloc" refers primarily to the socialist states within the Warsaw Pact. However, several other states also belonged to this bloc: the Ukrainian SSR, the Byelorussian SSR, the Lithuanian SSR, the Moldavian SSR, the Georgian SSR, and the Azerbaijan SSR. Many scholars do not consider these states to be true members of the bloc because they did not share a common government structure. Instead, they are considered allies of the socialist states.

Additionally, several other states have been referred to as part of the Eastern Bloc: Cambodia, North Korea, Vietnam, Laos, and China (until 1992).

Why are the Eastern Bloc countries called Second World countries?

As previously stated, the former Soviet governments and those that sided with them, collectively known as the Eastern Bloc, were categorized as second-world countries. Because they supported the Soviet Union, they were simply referred to as "second world countries." They planned to practice Communism and were known as the Eastern bloc.

Communism is a political system where the government owns all means of production and distribution. Under communism, there is no private ownership of property. Instead, the state controls everything.

Eastern Europe was under the control of the Soviet Union for nearly 70 years until it broke up in 1991. During this time, many of its people were enslaved in labor camps, but others used their skills as engineers, scientists, doctors, writers, artists, etc. to help develop their country into a powerful nation. Many countries in Europe have traces of what once were great cities dating back hundreds of years ago. Budapest, Vienna, Prague, and Berlin are just a few of these cities. They all had great cultures and amazing architecture before they became part of Russia, Germany, or other European countries. Although they lost most of their wealth and power after being taken over by the Soviets, they still have many landmarks from their days as rich nations.

The term "second world" came from the fact that these countries were not as developed as the first-world countries.

Who are the countries of the Eastern Bloc?

Poland, East Germany, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, and Yugoslavia comprised the Eastern Bloc. The Eastern Bloc was a collection of nations in central and eastern Europe governed by the Soviet Union from the conclusion of World War II until the Soviet communist regime collapsed.

The term "Eastern Bloc" is generally used to describe the countries that were members of the Warsaw Pact or the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance (Comecon). Although these organizations did not control all political aspects of their member states, they provided trade policies, defense strategies, and other forms of cooperation that more tightly bound them together as sub-states within the Soviet union.

In addition to the Soviet Union and its successor state Russia, the only other country that can be considered part of the Eastern Bloc is Cuba. However many countries with histories of communism come out of this bloc time and time again, most recently including China and North Korea.

During the period from 1944 to 1991, all of the countries of the Eastern Bloc were controlled by some form of communist government. In Poland, Hungary, and East Germany, communists took power after WWII revolutions led by progressive leaders who then declared themselves dictators. In the Soviet Union, communists assumed power after Stalin's death in 1953 and continued under his former colleagues.

About Article Author

Kathleen Hoyt

Kathleen Hoyt is a writer and researcher who has published on topics such as citizenship, humanities and immigration. She also has extensive knowledge of politics and law. Kathleen is an avid reader with a curiosity for the world around her.


OnlySlightlyBiased.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts