People in Nevada who are 18 years of age or older may possess any type of firearms other than machine guns unless lawfully barred from doing so. All semi-automatic guns, including those with a detachable magazine and pistol grip, are included. Automatic weapons are banned completely.
Non-gun owners can own rifles if they are registered with a gun dealer or manufacturer and have a tax payment attached to the weapon. A separate tax must be paid annually on the value of the rifle. The limit on non-gun owners purchasing ammunition is 15 rounds per month for shotguns and 50 rounds per month for rifles.
The law enforcement division of the Nevada Department of Public Safety is called the Division of Firearms Control. They are responsible for enforcing state firearm laws and registering new guns sold in Nevada. Anyone who sells more than five firearms a year must be licensed as a gun dealer by the department.
Licensees must comply with several requirements to ensure the safety of their customers. They must conduct background checks on all buyers and keep records of these checks. If there is even a slight chance that someone may not be allowed to buy a gun because of a criminal record or other issue, the licensee must deny the sale until it can be resolved.
Gun dealers must also maintain a clean facility and secure their inventory. They can be punished for negligent storage of firearms if one were to happen to go missing.
Nevada only recognizes permits or licenses given to those above the age of 21. To acquire a rifle, shotgun, or pistol, no state permit is necessary. To qualify for a federal firearms license, however, all guns sold in the state must be licensed.
The age limit applies to all types of weapons including handguns, shotguns, and rifles. It does not matter whether you want to purchase a new firearm or upgrade an existing one. Even if you are under 21 years old, you can still get a license if you can pass a criminal background check. The same rule applies to any change or improvement to your weapon. For example, if you turn 18 years old and want to add a laser sight to your handgun, it's not prohibited by law.
You may be wondering why there is an age limit for purchasing firearms. The National Rifle Association (NRA) believes that young people should be allowed to own guns because they will learn how to handle them responsibly when they are adults. Also, people over 21 tend to be more responsible when it comes to owning weapons. There have been many cases where children have found guns lying around the house or area owned by their parents or others in the family and used them without understanding how to operate them properly. By allowing minors access to firearms, this kind of accident could happen.
Both in-state and out-of-state citizens are subject to Nevada firearms restrictions. Residents and non-residents alike are entitled to "open-carry" weapons, subject to certain restrictions. However, in order to carry a concealed handgun, a non-resident must have a CCW from a reciprocal state. California residents can obtain a permit that allows them to carry a concealed weapon in the opposite corner of the country.
If you live in California but plan to carry your firearm in another state, you will need a CWP. You can apply for your permit by going through a local sheriff's department or police station. The process usually takes less than an hour and includes a simple background check.
Some counties may require you to attend training classes before they will issue you a permit. These courses vary in length but typically last between 20 minutes and one hour. There is no requirement for you to complete these courses in order to be issued a permit. In fact, the only real qualification to carry a concealed weapon is being at least 18 years old. You must also be able to pass a background check and possess a valid driver's license or ID card.
In Nevada, it is illegal for anyone to carry a concealed weapon without a permit. It is also unlawful for any person not licensed as a dealer or collector to sell a firearm with a barrel shorter than 16 inches or longer than 26 inches.
Nevada has long been an open carry state, with more regions accessible to open carriers than to concealed carriers. There is no registration requirement for weapons in Nevada, and citizens and non-residents alike can acquire long guns. Residents are required to complete a safety training course before they can obtain a license, which can be done at any range that offers the class. Non-residents are required to complete a written test to demonstrate knowledge of firearm laws in order to receive a permit.
Non-residents who want to purchase a handgun must meet some additional requirements. They must provide evidence of having $10,000 in place to pay for the cost of a background check. The location of the background check will likely be outside of Nevada since only in-state purchases can be completed by licensed firearms dealers. The process for purchasing a handgun as a non-resident may take longer than if you were a resident; it depends on how much proof of insurance you can provide. If you can't, you'll have to wait until you get your license before you can make another purchase.
It's important to remember that you cannot use or transport a weapon across state lines without a license. If arrested for possessing a prohibited item, you could face additional charges for transporting it across state lines illegally.