If no ID is supplied, the voter votes on a provisional ballot and must return by Monday at 12 p.m. to produce ID. Voting does not necessitate the production of any documentation. Because Colorado conducts all elections by mail, this statute only applies to voters who choose to vote in person on Election Day.
The deadline to provide ID has passed for many voters this year because it's one week before the election. But there is an extension for people who do not have access to required documents (such as a birth certificate). They can apply for a free ID card from the state agency in charge of voting records, called the Colorado Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The application process takes about 10 days.
Here are other states with similar requirements: Alaska, Arizona, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia.
In 2016, there were approximately 700,000 registered voters in Colorado who did not supply identification before or on Election Day. Out of these individuals, almost 90% voted provisionally, which means their ballots will be counted once they provide proper identification.
The number of provisional ballots has increased in recent years due to stricter laws requiring citizens to provide photo ID before voting. As of October 2017, Colorado had issued more than 800,000 provisional ballots in the past decade.
If no ID is supplied, a voter must provide their name, date of birth, and address, as well as sign under penalty of making a false declaration. If no identification is supplied, the voter must sign an affidavit confirming his or her identity. The affidavit is then filed with the election office.
The intent of the law is to prevent fraud at the polls. Specifically, it aims to reduce the incidence of "vote buying," in which someone offers food, money, or other benefits in exchange for your vote. The law also requires voters to provide some form of identification, which should reduce the number of people who vote illegally by allowing poll workers to check against federal databases full of information about convicted felons and other ineligible voters.
The burden of obtaining an ID card falls upon the individual, not upon any government agency. A person cannot be denied an ID card because they do not have any form of acceptable identification, such as a driver's license. The only people who will be able to obtain an ID card are those who can afford the fees required to do so.
In August 2013, the Justice Department announced that it would not challenge the constitutionality of the law. However, several groups including the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, the Urban League, and the American Civil Liberties Union still plan to file lawsuits challenging its constitutionality.
If no ID is supplied, the voter casts a provisional ballot and must return within three days to produce ID. If no ID is supplied, the voter recites his or her date of birth and address for verification. If no ID is supplied, the voter must sign an affidavit stating their identity and residence. The affidavit is then sent to the county election board.
In Pennsylvania, voters can request an identification card at Dept. of Transportation (PennDOT) offices, which are located throughout the state. These cards are available in either English or Spanish and include a photo ID number. The cost is $10 for individuals or groups. This fee goes towards the operating costs of the program. There is no charge for federal employees with ID cards issued by the Federal Government. The PennDOT ID also includes a voter information card that contains your name, address, and phone number in case you lose your ID card. You may give this number to anyone who asks for it when you go to vote.
In Virginia, any citizen over 17 years old who is a legal resident of the Commonwealth and who provides proof of identity may apply for a free Voter ID card at the office of the registrar of voters. Applicants must provide one of the following forms of identification: a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, train ticket, or some other form of payment authorization signed by the applicant or their authorized representative; or a current license to drive a motor vehicle in Virginia.