Who is the current prime minister of India?

Who is the current prime minister of India?

Narendra Modi, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, was elected Prime Minister of India in 2014, becoming the country's first prime minister born in an independent India. In 2019, Narendra Modi was re-elected Prime Minister with a larger mandate than in 2014. The BJP-led NDA won 354 seats, with the BJP securing 303 of them. This is its best performance ever after two consecutive losses in 2009 and 2014.

Modi took office at the age of 49, making him the youngest person to become India's prime minister. He has also been accused by civil rights groups of human rights violations during his time as chief minister of Gujarat.

He became known outside Gujarat for his aggressive brand of politics, which included regular street rallies where he would make inflammatory speeches against Muslims before large crowds. The election campaign of 2014 was particularly divisive with attacks on Muslims taking place all over India. At least 2200 people were killed in violence related to the elections.

After winning the elections, Modi moved back to his home state of Gujarat where he was sworn in as prime minister on 26 May 2014. His cabinet was also sworn in later that day.

Modi has said that his priority as prime minister is to build a more developed India that can compete with the world's most advanced economies. However, he has been criticized for moving too slowly to address unemployment, poverty, and malnutrition across the country.

Who became the prime minister of India after the 2014 general election?

India's Prime Minister

Prime Minister of India (Bhārat ke Pradhānamantri)
Incumbent Narendra Modi since 26 May 2014
Prime Minister’s Office
StyleThe Honourable (Hon’ble) (formal) His Excellency (in diplomatic correspondence) Mr. Prime Minister (informal)
StatusHead of government

Who was the first prime minister?

India's Prime Minister

Prime Minister of India Bhārat ke Pradhānamantri
Inaugural holderJawaharlal Nehru
Formation15 August 1947
Unofficial namesPM
DeputyVacant, Deputy Prime Minister of India

Who is the current Prime Minister of India?

You will be alive on May 4, 2021. Mr. Prime Minister The date of birth Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister (1932-09-26) September 26, 1932 (age 88) 2004-2014 H. D. Deve Gowda (1933–05-18) was a politician from India. May 18, 1933 (age 87) 1996-1997 Narendra Modi (born September 17, 1950) is an Indian politician. September 17, 1950 (age 70) 2014- Current

He is the prime minister of India, in office since May 2014. Before that, he was chief minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014. His second term as chief minister began on January 26, 2016.

Modi has also been elected president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), following his resignation as its leader. He became the first person to have led both the organisation and the government at the state level.

Modi won the 2009 election by a landslide victory with 282 out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) reserved for candidates from single-seat constituencies. The BJP had never won more than two seats in any previous election until then; it was only in 1999 that it broke through the two-seat barrier. However, even after winning nearly 300 seats in 2009, the party was not able to form a government because it did not have enough votes to command support from other parties. Finally, it formed a coalition government with the help of smaller regional parties.

Modi's election campaign focused on economic development and security through independence for Kashmir.

How many prime ministers are there in India now?

India's Prime Ministers are listed below.

1Jawaharlal Nehru15 August, 1947 – 15 April, 1952 15 April, 1952 – 17 April, 1957 17 April, 1957 – 2 April, 1962 2 April, 1962 – 27 May, 1964
14Manmohan Singh22 May, 2004 – 22 May, 2009 22 May, 2009 – 26 May, 2014
15Narendra Modi26 May, 2014 – 26 May, 2019 26 May, 2019 – Till date

Who was the PM of India in May 1999?

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1926-2018)March 19, 1998 – October 13, 1999
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1926-2018)October 13, 1999 – May 22, 2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh (B-1932)May 22, 2004 – May 26, 2014
Narendra Modi (B-1950)May 26, 2014 – Incumbent

Who is the current Prime Minister of Madagascar?

Hery Rajaonarimampianina, the current President, was elected in December 2013, and he selected Jean Ravelonarivo as Prime Minister. Madagascar has a bicameral parliament comprised of the National Assembly and the Senate. The National Assembly is made up of 160 members chosen from single-member and two-member constituencies. The Senate has 35 members, with one senator appointed by the President, three by the Parliament, and the remainder by government officials and ambassadors.

When did Madagascar become a republic? Madagascar became a republic on March 4, 1960. The former monarchy was abolished and the country was declared to be a republic after a popular vote approved a new constitution that created a presidential system of government.

What type of government does Madagascar have? Madagascar is a democratic republic. The president is both the head of state and head of government. He or she is elected by popular vote every five years. The president can also be removed from office through a parliamentary vote of no confidence or by being convicted of treason.

Why are there military coups in Madagascar? There have been several military coups in Madagascar since the nation gained its independence in 1960. All were led by officers who wanted to remove the president because they believed that they could gain more power this way. The last coup took place in 2009 and resulted in the arrest of then-President Marc Ravalomanana.

Who is the current CM of India?

Current Chief Ministers of India

State (past chief ministers)NameParty
Andhra Pradesh (list)Y. S. Jagan Mohan ReddyYuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party
Arunachal Pradesh (list)Pema KhanduBharatiya Janata Party
Assam (list)Himanta Biswa SarmaBharatiya Janata Party
Bihar (list)Nitish KumarJanata Dal (United)

About Article Author

Bob Patterson

Bob Patterson is a veteran of the U.S. Navy. He served for over 20 years, and during that time he traveled all over the world, including to active war zones. Bob's career involved intelligence work, but he decided to retire early so that he could spend more time with his family.

Related posts